cooking · Daily Journal · parenting

#9 Mom’s Enchiladas

IMG_9076

Cheesy, gooey, creamy deliciousness.  That’s what these are.

When I was planning my menu for this week I realized I needed enchiladas soon.  These are a recipe that my mom used to make when I was a kid.  If you’re looking for paleo, Whole 30 or generally healthy recipes, keep searching.  But if you love chicken, sour cream and Mexican food, stop here!

I believe the recipe was given to her by my aunt in the early years of my parents’ marriage.  My mom would make these for us every couple of months.  These were usually what I would call a Sunday meal.  They took a little extra work and she would prepare them on a Sunday.  These were one of my favorite meals growing up.  She would serve them with refried beans and a green salad.  Such good good memories…

So it’s with a lot of love and sentiment that I make these for my family.  Scott and I really enjoy them.  The kids are learning to enjoy them.  ha ha.  I’ll share the recipe here.  Leave a comment and tell me what you think if you decide to make them!

Mom’s Chicken Sour Cream Enchiladas

Cook one 2-3 lb chicken – dice into small pieces

16 oz sour cream

1 can cream of chicken soup

1/2 can cream of mushroom soup

1/2 can milk

4 oz can diced green chilies

1 bunch green onions – chopped fine

8 oz Jack cheese – grated

8 oz Cheddar cheese – grated

1 dozen large flour tortillas

1 small can sliced black olives

Combine sour cream, chicken soup, mushroom soup and milk in large bowl.  Mix well for filling.

Combine cheese and green onions in large bowl.  Set aside.

Place about 1/4 cup of filing in each tortilla, add cheese and onion mixture.  Add small amount of chicken and chilies.

Roll each tortilla and place seam side down in (1) rectangle 9 x 13 and (1) square 8 x 8 casserole dishes in which you have placed a layer of filling on the bottom.  Cover tortillas with the remaining filling.  Top with remaining onion and cheese mixture.  Garnish with olives.

Bake at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes or until cheese is bubbling and they are heated through.

Note: instead of cooking a whole chicken (my mom boiled hers, removed all the meat, and shredded/chopped it for this recipe), you can also bake 2-3 large chicken breasts and shred or chop those.  

 

Leave a Reply

