cooking · Daily Journal · parenting

#11 Market Bounty

IMG_9147

I took the three big kids to our local Thursday night farmer’s market today.  We don’t make it as often as I’d like, but when we go I like to support local businesses and farms (duh) and sometimes try something new!

So we have here: cabbage (which I used for a very quick vinegar slaw with dinner tonight), yellow peaches, okra, white cheddar and pepper jack cheeses from a small dairy about 45 minutes away, raspberries, blackberries, and pastries!  Specifically, cannoli, a bear claw and a cherry turnover.  Yummm!

So this week I will be on the hunt for a good okra recipe.  I really have no idea how to prepare them.  I do know they can be slimy if not prepared correctly!

I love taking the kids to the farmer’s market.  We’re outdoors and we’re surrounded by beautiful and fresh food and flowers.  It’s a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

