cooking · Daily Journal · kids

#15 Salisbury Steak

IMG_9414

This beautiful plate of old fashioned goodness was our dinner this evening.

It started with ground beef.  I had a pound thawed and needed to use it.  I wanted to try something different and easy-ish.  I honestly don’t know how I came up with salisbury steak but I did and here it is!  I have never had salisbury steak in my life.  But I saw a couple recipes and was like, hey, my kids may actually like this!  Ground beef, gravy, mashed potatoes, green beans…

I whipped this together pretty quickly.  Homemade mashed potatoes of course, using Scott’s mom’s recipe.  Fresh green beans steamed in the bag (thank you Trader Joe’s).  And of course the star of the show, salisbury steak with gravy.

Scott and I both really liked it!  Ty ate all of his too.  The other three kids weren’t sure about the whole thing but I sort of loved that not only was it tasty, but this whole dinner was a total throwback to the 1950s housewife style dinner.  I think this will be a repeat!

Leave a Reply

